Hump Day Post: Postcard from Sale, Victoria

A few years ago on our way back home from Sale in Victoria, we came across a sunflower field which took my breath away. I’d never seen one!

Sale, Vic , (1 of 1) January 2009

It reminded me of the Calendar Girls Movie…

‘I don’t think there’s anything on this planet that more trumpets life that the sunflower. For me that’s because of the reason behind its name. Not because it looks like the sun but because it follows the sun. During the course of the day, the head tracks the journey of the sun across the sky. A satellite dish for sunshine. Wherever light is, no matter how weak, these flowers will find it. And that’s such an admirable thing. And such a lesson in life.’

I would have to agree with this quote. I wonder how much sunnier our lives would be if we looked for the light, no matter how weak!

About Retired2Travel

My passion has been for many, many years landscape photography so when the chance came up to retire early, in order to travel, I took it! It made sense then to marry the two (travel and photography) and create this blog. I hope you enjoy it :)
This entry was posted in Australia, Hump Day Post, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hump Day Post: Postcard from Sale, Victoria

  1. Debbie H says:

    I love sunflowers too and agree wholeheartedly with that quote! Such a beautiful photo of the sunflower field Sonia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That photo looks like a piece of art. Beautiful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. They are a beautiful flower. Every year we plant them in the garden, one for each member of the family and then see which ones grows the tallest and the biggest. We get a lot of sunny flowers and also some arguments!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ruth says:

    Oh how I would like to see a sunflower field. Thanks for sharing yours.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.